One of the many faces of grace

“For grace to be grace, it must give us things we didn’t know we needed, and take us to places where we didn’t want to go.” –Kathleen Norris

I’ve been working on my daughter’s wedding gown for nearly a year. It was about a year ago that her beloved popped the question, and we immediately got to work on the dress she would wear walking down the aisle. I had a year of full time teaching ahead of me, so I worked to get the dress cut out before school started with the thought that I would get it mostly done over Christmas vacation.


I’ve read that if you want to make God laugh, tell him your plans. I’m not certain that my heavenly Father is sadistic in that way, but I do know that, as Robert Burns wrote,

“The best-laid schemes o’ mice an’ men

Gang aft agley”

and they surely do.


Christmas found me overwhelmed with a daughter-in-love about to give birth, and school obligations that had to be accomplished before I returned for the spring semester. Nothing was accomplished on the dress over the break.


Spring break was more profitable wedding-dress wise, and I was certain that very little was left to do on it.


At the end of the school year, I began to work on it again, and found that the zipper needed to be picked out and sewn in again. This past Tuesday, I had enough of it done to put it on my daughter for the hem marking.


To our shock and dismay, though we had carefully sized the pattern, and she had lost weight over the past year, the dress would not zip all the way up the back. I was devastated.


So, here we are, two weeks out from the wedding, and I am ripping out seams and reconstructing the waist and bodice of the dress. I was confounded, and certainly there are other things to do to get ready for the wedding. (And there have been other glitches minor and major.) But, I will keep working on the dress until it is ready for the bride.


This, too, is grace.

Susan Price

[Moderator edit: the dress did indeed get completed in time for the wedding by God’s grace. I finished it around 4 p.m. the day before the wedding.]

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One of the many faces of grace

  1. A valiant effort! God bless you for trying – I can only imagine how seriously you must have taken it. I am very glad you were able to succeed!!

  2. Rehoboth says:

    Thank you, dancing. It was a huge challenge, and I discovered later that I had some physiological stuff going on, too.

Comments are closed.