Rehoboth

Rehoboth means, “roominess.” It comes from Genesis 26:22 “And he removed from thence, and digged another well; and for that they strove not: and he called the name of it Rehoboth; and he said, For now the LORD hath made room for us, and we shall be fruitful in the land.”

I like that idea. My son and daughter-in-love lived in a tiny, one-room apartment when they first got married almost two years ago. How small was it? It was so small that you had to step outside to change your mind! It was a tight fit for even the handful of possessions they had. Now they have a two-bedroom apartment which is roomier (and they have a delightful infant son with whom to share it.)

There’s an old cowboy song, “Don’t Fence Me In” written by Cole Porter. The first two lines are

Oh, give me the land, lots of land
Under starry skies above
Don’t fence me in

Cowboys could roam the prairies for days without running into anyone else. They perforce had to love the wide open spaces as a survival tool.

The past four plus years have not felt very roomy for me. As an introvert, I recharge in solitude, and there was not enough of that when I went out to work, while all three of my children graduated from various schools, and followed that act up by getting married–all three of them–and had babies (two of them). The past year has been very short on roominess, time to reflect and be silent in the presence of the Lord. Full time teaching, for me, ran 50 to 60 hours a week. This put a strain on all of us, and when I wasn’t working, it seemed like people were standing in line waiting for me to resolve various, um, difficulties, and to give them wise counsel. Most Friday evenings found me sitting in a chair in a catatonic state, myself in need of wise counsel.

After much discussion, dh and I decided that I could not work full time. The latest wedding behind us in July, and some furniture having followed the last exiter, I found at last some roominess. Unfortunately, my roominess itself is restricted. We had planned that I would find a part time job so that we would not fall completely into a financial shakedown. I don’t have to tell you what the job market is like at this point. I suspect that there is some great, eternal plan at work here. There is plenty to do to keep busy, and I’m trying to find motivation to organize and plan my days. And I’m trying hard not to pout.

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in money and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.