Gardeners Are Grounded Optimists

Mint, chives, impatiens, parsley

Back in September, I wrote this post about planting tomatoes in my long-neglected garden. Gardening is work, no getting around it, but it’s also therapy. Every seed planted points to hope, and optimism. A gardener does not get dirt under her nails just because it’s fun (and mind you, it is fun) but because in putting plants and seeds into the ground, she looks forward to the harvest.

Raised beds

The tomato plants that I put in the ground in September bore fruit. A lot of it. We had tomatoes right up until a hard freeze skated in around mid- January. Even then, I  picked all of the green tomatoes (mostly sweet pear-shaped yellow ones) before the freeze hit and we ate them for snacks as they ripened.

Hanging herb garden

Spring came earlier this year than has been her custom in recent years. I began eying up the raised beds that had lain fallow over the winter. The blackened, frost-bitten tomato vines had curled in over themselves, and looked like the survivors of a horror movie. I released them from their misery, and began to rid the raised bed of the few fugitive weeds that had taken refuge there.

Fig tree putting forth leaves

With the help of my borrowed boy, we brought home some rich earth (Florida soil is abysmally poor), and together we hopefully prepared the raised bed to bring forth much fruit.So far, we have two tomato plants, two sweet pepper plants, yellow and zucchini squash, green beans, dill, and basil planted. It looks like there is enough space to have a planting of corn for my borrowed boy, lettuce, and maybe spinach.

Kitten container and lavender

My herb bed (which consists of mostly plants in containers) has been resurrected. Only the sage, wise herb that she is, hung on through the hard times, and has been rewarded with a renewed container in which to thrive. Other herb containers doubled as kitten beds, and the plants eventually gave up. I’m trying hanging containers this year. (And, I’ve left some of the containers in case a hobo kitty needs a place to crash.) There is parsley, sage, thyme (and if the rosemary germinates, we’ll have that, too). The lavender smells so fresh, the chives are inviting me to make potato soup, and the mint smells sweet.Gardening reminds me…

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases,
   his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
   great is your faithfulness.
‘The Lord is my portion,’ says my soul,
   ‘therefore I will hope in him.’ 
Lamentations 3:23-24
About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gardeners Are Grounded Optimists

  1. May we come visit when your garden brings forth it's goodies? Please, oh please, oh please?

  2. Rehoboth says:

    You, and Charlotte and the young'n if you have him are welcome any time as long as you are coming to see us and not our house. 😀

  3. I think I can safely say that there would be no PHYSICAL place in Marion County, Florida I have the slightest interest in seeing. Ever. People, on the other hand, especially my brothers and sisters in Christ, I could visit forever, wherever. (On the other hand, were there to be physical spot in Marion County worth it to my heart to see, I'm sure it would be your beautiful house and scrumptious garden. Perhaps, even, as healing.)

Comments are closed.