Twisted

twisted: to change or distort something

Hershey Park Super Dooper Looper

Back in the day, I loved roller coasters. There was the anticipation as the cars s-l-o-w-l-y  climbed to the top. That was the only predictable part of the ride. After that, the twists and turns, the screaming and the heart palpitations – it was all so much fun. I even rode  The Super Dooper Looper one summer at Hershey Park, PA one summer. And I think I surprised Harry when I rode the coaster in Spain that same summer.

The shrewd Miss Marple

Plot Twists

I love me some twists and turns in my reading.  Oh yeah. Agatha Christies’s Miss Marple is my favorite detective. Just the fact that an elderly spinster who spends her spare time knitting fluffy baby sweaters can rock a crime scene is a twist in itself. If that’s not nerdy enough , when I moved to Portugal, I read the books in Portuguese for language practice and idioms. (It worked.) And don’t get me started on suspense stories!

Twists and turns of life

About the only thing that doesn’t change is that change is constant. F’rinstance you may get up some morning to go to work and find yourself bringing home a 13-year-old  house guest  for three months. Some changes are more permanent, humanly speaking. We learn to bend, or we crack. 

A few years back when life was changing much faster than I was able to process it, I noticed one morning that the left side of my back was more prominent than the right side. I had also noted that my left leg was longer than my right. There wasn’t much time to think about it what with graduations, weddings, a full time job, and various intense life events. A couple of months ago, my chiropractor said that she noticed something out of place in my lumbar region. She wanted me to come in for an X-ray. 

Gaah. You ever notice how your mind can race in similar circumstances? You get to the point where you are choosing where you will be cremated, and start giving away your valuables to your kids. Normally, I would have been in full panic mode in a week. This time was different. I stopped. I remembered that I was not alone. In this already eventful year, this time I did not begin to wonder what I had done wrong that God had brought this on me. 


For years I struggled with a “Maude Mentality.” If you’re old enough, you may remember Maude saying, “God wll get you for this.” Somewhere between January (when my husband lost his job) and the appointment for the X-ray, Jesus had gotten through to me that He was in control, and that I could trust Him . I was able to face the X-ray without fear. 

And the X-ray? 

The X-ray proved that I am twisted. (Some of you will not be surprised.) My spine couldn’t have just a “normal” scoliosis. My spine is twisted – picture a tornado sculpted in bones. The chiropractor said she’d never seen the likes of it, and she’s seen a lot of spines. Evidently, I’ve made history in a twisted sort of way. Me and Quasimodo. 🙂



 “When we are no longer able to change a situation, we are challenged to change ourselves.”  ~Victor Frankl

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in change and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Twisted

  1. DawnK says:

    Can they do anything for your back or do you just have to live with it? Life is always full of twists and turns!

  2. Rehoboth says:

    The chiropractor did not offer any suggestions for correcting it.

Comments are closed.