Wherein I Conclude My Writing About Work

…continued from last week

 An Engaging Topic

 I told the former sailor that I would marry him. We continued to date for over two months. As time went by I became certain that though he was a fine man, I simply was not ready to settle down – and he was. I freaked out thinking about being “tied down.” As he observed later (in the nicest way) I had some growing up to do. And, I had discovered that “editorial assistant” was a euphemism for “proof reader” and I was getting mentally restless.

The School Marm

My parents, who missed me, let me know there was an opening for a fourth grade teacher in the church school in my home church. I was hired in a phone interview. So I packed up the old 1963 Ford to return to the east coast. A longtime friend, who lived in southeastern Colorado, hitchhiked to Denver and announced that he was driving me back to Pennsylvania. And he did, driving the 1900 miles nearly non-stop except for getting more coffee.

I taught fourth grade in the church school for three years. I loved and enjoyed my students immensely. The sixth grade teacher and I had a warped sense of humor and occasionally we conspired to keep our students on their toes. One day we casually traded classrooms right after lunch without telling the students or explaining it. We seldom sat together in church after we discovered that propinquity aggravated our warped humor and led to giggling out loud in the service.

 Change of Venue

After the third year, I married my high school sweetheart. He was the business manager of a missions organization in Portugal. A good deal of my work from that point involved learning to speak and understand the Portuguese language, keeping house, hospitality, bearing and raising children. This continued until we had been back in the states for about four years.

Part-time Full Time, all the Time Crazy

Beginning in 1994 I got on a job roller coast consisting of trying to home school three children, caring for my parents in our home (four years) and keeping a part-time job. I worked at JoAnn Fabrics then went on to work for a motor coach tour company until 1998. Next was a one-year gig at a private school in Lancaster. After that we moved to Florida and one summer I worked in a Pizza Hut in Silver Springs Attraction (yes, the one with the glass bottom boats).  I brought my widowed mother down to care for her in 2003. In 2005 I took a full-time job in Social Services (not a good match).

From there I worked a semester teaching creative writing to eighth graders followed by a part time job in a private school teaching music to K-8 and drama to eighth grade (as if eighth graders need teaching in drama).

In January of 2008, I was hired as a teacher assistant, then as a teacher at another private school. I stayed through the 2009 school year. I had a year off,  then tutored a private student for two years.

Enter the Economy

The tutoring job was finished, and I was ready for what came next. What came was nothing. For four months. I applied for everything possible and some things impossible.

Finally, I was hired part time at a Christian bookstore. I loved it. It was a great place to work, but customers were few, and I was let go.

What’s Next?

I don’t know what’s next. All I  know is that Jesus has promised to never forsake me. And that I can live with while I look and wait.

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in change and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wherein I Conclude My Writing About Work

  1. Kevin Spencer says:

    I love the way your words flow Susan. You are a wonderful writer. Each of these stories is like a single piece of a giant Susan Price jigsaw puzzle, and with each one we slide the piece into its proper place, and the picture of Susan becomes clearer.

    • Elizabeth Signer says:

      Have you considered retiring and writing full time? You do it well; so well, that you ought to do it for a living.

  2. Susan says:

    Thank you, Mr. Spencer. That makes my day.

Comments are closed.