Wherein I Discuss My Word

calvin-and-hobbes-New-Years-Resolution From the time that Benjamin Franklin was 20 years old, he worked on a personal growth program. He methodically exerted himself toward excellence in three areas: mentally, physically and morally. Ol’ Ben worked on these areas throughout his life and wrote about his program in his autobiography – an interesting read.

I am no Ben Franklin. And I’m not 20 years old anymore. I gave up New Year’s Resolutions years ago and instead tried integrating change as needed.  That was more productive, but still required a lot of legalistic contortions in order to  succeed.  I discovered this past autumn that mentally working on a situation in progress is riding the bullet train that’s headed for a giant Giant Redwood, Northern California, 1953redwood tree. Not the one you can drive through. Painful. When I stopped trying to figure it out in my head, I heard from my heart. When I heard my heart, it was clear and simple. No heroics were required, just trusting that the still, small Voice I heard was right.

And that is my word to remember for 2013. Trusting. The last two years have been painful. Events and relationships have stretched me, and bruised me; others have made me grow. I spent a lot of mental energy trying to “fix” things that, truth be known, did not need to be fixed, only to be learned from. This year, with God’s help, I will listen to my heart and trust what he brings my way, and trust him to get me through.

How about you? Have you made resolutions, or do you have a word? I’d love to hear from you.

peace

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in change and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wherein I Discuss My Word

  1. Elizabeth Signer says:

    GREAT SP. Truly great. I guess I am resolving to start over. From the beginning. To see where it leads. MY plans are not always HIS plans and I guess that’s why those things I PLAN for seem to end up clinking. Trust? It may become a part of my vocabulary again, once I clean my ears out to hear HIS direction. Happy New Year Dear friend. God Bless and keep you.

  2. Kevin Spencer says:

    A little girl and her father were crossing a bridge.
    The father was kind of scared so he asked his little daughter:
    “Sweetheart, please hold my hand so that you don’t fall into the river.” The little girl said:
    “No, Dad. You hold my hand.”
    “What’s the difference?” Asked the puzzled father.

    “There’s a big difference,” replied the little girl.
    “If I hold your hand and something happens to me, chances are that I may let your hand go. But if you hold my hand, I know for sure that no matter what happens, you will never let my hand go.”

    In any relationship, the essence of trust is not in its bind, but in its bond. So hold the hand of the person whom you love rather than expecting them to hold yours.

    Beautifully written Susan. Most excellent.

    • Thank you, Kevin. That is a nice story. How nice it would be if life had reset buttons for a second chance when one screws up. Unfortunately there is only a “game over” light at the end. What is done is done and some things cannot be undone no matter how badly one wishes they could be undone.

  3. Debbie Morgan says:

    In a word….wow. ❤

  4. You have no idea, Debbie. Thank you for commenting.

Comments are closed.