Wherein We Look at Vampires

emotional vampires suckShe said, “Dandelo was a vampire that fed on emotions instead of blood.” –Stephen King, The Dark Tower

From Count Dracula to Edward Cullen numerous people through the centuries have been fascinated by vampires. Folklore tells us that these creatures were once human beings that were bitten by a vampire that then sucked their blood. In that way, the humans became a vampire themselves that follow suit by sucking the blood out of other humans.

Gruesome. More horrible yet, though, are the emotional vampires. Most people have run into these energy sucking creatures, and a fair number of us have been one at some for however short of time it may have been. There are various sorts of emotional vampires, and each has it’s own way of sucking your life away, but the ones called Injustice Collectors may be the hardest from whom to free one’s self and one of the most painful.

Injustice Collectors and People Pleasers are often found flocking together. The collectors have a list of injustices that they believe have been practiced upon them from as far back as they can remember. Any People Pleasers in the vicinity feel obliged to apologize. Over, and over and over again.

Injustice Collectors are seldom able to dump out their bucket of injustice and move on. It’s their “precious.” It is how they maintain control of the people in their lives. If they live with a People Pleaser, the injustice bucket comes out and gets dumped all over him or her.  And people pleasers seldom understand why this is happening time after time.

I got into this cycle with a couple of family members. No matter what I said or did, it was wrong. Moldy old stories would come up and be thrown in my face. They were still irate about things I did that offended them even when they were small (and for which I had asked forgiveness and been given it numerous times). And always, always, they picked up new pieces for their collection along the way.

One day, a week after another explosive and heart wrenching episode of the Justice Collectors, I saw that I had but one choice, and I took it: I walked away. I shut the door and locked it from the outside and put a dead bolt on the door. It wasn’t even that hard at that point. The emotional pain caused by their justice collecting  just…disappeared. My life has been more peaceful for almost a year and a half now. I’m not angry with them. I would willingly reconcile if they have given up their habit.

Have you survived any emotional vampires?

bucket

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in change and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wherein We Look at Vampires

  1. Betty Draper says:

    Great post…I have survived as few of those emotional vanpires. There is one in my family and several years ago I did exactly what you did, I walked away for a while from that relationship. It was sucking the life out of me. My brother was one of those injustice vanpires, always the victum, always complaining. A couple years passed and I felt God telling me to try it again for the sake of my Mom. It’s better, he has mellowed. I control the time I spend around him on purpose.
    There is a lady in the bible study I attend and she is emotionally draining all us ladies. I am always convicted when around someone like that to check my own life. Again great post, very thought provoking and something we all deal with. Blessings

  2. Bethie says:

    Wow! Cool! And GOOD FOR YOU! 🙂

    • Thanks, B. I’ve been waiting for a chance to use that SK quote ever since I read it a couple of weeks ago. Let me know when you get your blog up and are writing – I’ll be looking for it.

Comments are closed.