Wherein Girl Meets World

Boy_Meets_World_season_1_intertitleMy loving son, after I applied to him for DVDs to watch, loaned me the first season of Boy Meets World. The show was made more than a couple of decades after I was in Junior High, but apparently not much has changed.

Moving up to seventh grade was less stressful for me than I expected. This was the mid-sixties with the civil rights movement changing the colors of our world, and Warren G. Harding Junior High School  in Philadelphia was integrated. Sixty percent of the students were black, and my parents were fussed about that for reasons that I could not comprehend. I loved Junior High.

One of the things that I loved about it was the trolley. Every morning I grabbed my book bag, walked five blocks to the trolley stop and climbed on board to ride to school. It was about a mile from the trolley stop to the school. I felt so independent!

We had some unforgettable teachers.  Mr. Paisley was what we called the art teacher. He spent the first quarter teaching us to draw paisleys. (If you aren’t sure what a paisley is, look here.) Our science teacher was Mr. Edelson (who happened to be Jewish). He seated me at the back of the classroom –  never a good idea. One day my body was sitting at the lab table, and my brain wasn’t. I was clicking my pen in an absent-minded way. Mr. Edelson boomed from the front of the class: “Haviland, stop clicking that pen!!” My mind rejoined my body immediately. I told my parents about that, and to their amusement, in a parent-teacher meeting Mr. Edelson clicked his pen the whole time. He also talked them out of sending me to to Girls High. His reason? “Those Jewish girls over there will eat her alive.”

My favorite class was Home Ec. Those teachers opened up a new world for me. We all received a basic cookbook from the Philadelphia school system. I still have mine and use the hot cocoa recipe. The book told you how to plan menus, set tables properly, and how to manage your home. The boys coming out of shop class hovered outside the door when we baked cookies. (One of them had a motorcycle, and walked me the mile home one day, and kissed me. The first.) Sewing. I loved learning how to sew. I should have gone to Drexel and majored in home ec.

I had some good friends in Jr. Hi. Kathy and I pretended that we were super heroes. I was Batman, and she was Robin, and we solved imaginary crimes.  We put anonymous notes in lockers of boys we thought were cute.  She liked Dark Shadows, and was in love with Barnabas Collins. Carolyn I met in orchestra practice. We  played cello, and got permission to practice during classes if we were caught up. We abused that – skipped out of English almost daily.  Eventually, we got busted. I don’t remember in what class I met Gloria, but we frequently got in trouble for passing notes or talking and giggling in class. We had our own integration program: Kathy was Chinese, and Gloria and Carolyn were African Americans. We would have been life-long friends, I think, if my dad hadn’t uprooted us in the spring of ninth grade and moved us to Wyoming. I still wonder where they are.

What do you remember from junior high or middle school?

 

cory

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in change and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wherein Girl Meets World

  1. elprice2013 says:

    I would love to ride a motorcycle one day…and setting the table is such an important skill!

  2. Dawn Klein says:

    My 7th grade science teacher was from Chicago, I think. She told us to “warsh” the test-tubes. That was funny and we giggled about it the whole year. What can I say, we were 12 and 13 and easily amused.

    Also, my other important middle-school memory is that Gary and I were in band together, although we really didn’t know each other then. He played saxophone as an 8th grader and I was playing cornet as a 7th grader. I remember a red-haired sax player. Who knew I’d be married to him 14 years later!

  3. Betty Draper says:

    Junior high was awkward for me as I developed earlier then the other girls…I wanted to band my self like they did in early China.

    The motor cycle days came years later after I got married. Good post, I thought I had buried those junior high memories for good.

    • I thought I had buried those junior high memories for good

      I think a lot of people feel that way about Jr. High. It tends to be the awkward age. I hear you, though, I started developing in fifth grade. I guess I was over it by the time I got to seventh grade.

  4. Kevin Spencer says:

    Yes. Junior High. Developing girls. That pretty much covers it.

Comments are closed.