Meet The Opinionated Man (OM)

Although I began blogging in 2009, I did not meet a lot of fellow bloggers until I moved to WordPress. WP actively encourages bloggers to read what other bloggers write. The blog, HarsH ReaLiTy, caught my attention early on. The Opinionated Man’s posts made me think, and laugh. After I read his adoption story, I decided to follow him. He does write about some of the harsh realities, but he also has a compassionate heart and a sense of humor.

Please tell the readers a little bit about yourself and your pen name. 

OM: I am 32 years old and I live in Denver, CO with my wife and two daughters. I am an adopted Korean-American and I enjoy writing, reading, and watching sports. I really didn’t give much thought to my pen name, it was just meant as a pseudonym, but has as since become a persona of sorts. 

What motivated you to start a blog; do you think it is successful? Why or why not?

OM: My mother is a blogger and I was encouraged to give it a try after seeing hers.

 I think currently my blog is a success, but interests change and people’s interests are fleeting, so that could change in a day.

What makes a blogger good, and what makes a good blogger better?

 A blogger knows how to manage his time, and attacks all the different areas of blogging evenly so that a stable structure is formed. People that cannot manager their time, and get lost in just one aspect of blogging tend to get stuck and cannot grow their blog adequately. A successful blog to me has a strong viewership and member rate. There are many “good writers” but they don’t necessarily have “good blogs” if they aren’t getting views.

What advice can you give to people who want to reach a wide blog audience? 

Interaction is the key to meeting anyone in the real world or the blog world. Social media is about interacting, not just creating an account and hoping people will find you. People won’t find your blog without you extending a hand first, no matter how great you write.

I understand that you have written and are writing books. Tell us about your books.

Well I thought I would give it a whirl and try and publish some eBooks. I have some blogging topics, poetry, and my adoption story that people generally like to read about. If the world didn’t revolve around monetary gains, I wouldn’t care about publishing. But a writer has to eat right?

The Opinionated Man has, of the moment of publishing this, 15,742 people  following his blog. Take a walk over to HarsH ReaLiTy,  and check it out.

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Meet The Opinionated Man (OM)

  1. Very nice, thanks!

  2. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    I don’t do many of these because I feel people don’t really want to know too much about a pseudonym that doesn’t have a real name. Still, I appreciate the time she took. 🙂

  3. His was one of the first blogs to really grab me, as well. Always a fabulous read.

  4. I meant to reblog this a while back. My bad. I have corrected that. 🙂

  5. This is really nice! The OM’s posts are always interesting to read, and so are the comments. The OM’s an adopted Korean-American. I think that’s really cool, especially since I have three younger adopted Korean sisters, and I live and teach in South Korea.

  6. Cathy the Bagg Lady says:

    Nice interview.
    Cathy the Bagg Lady

  7. WilderSoul says:

    Nice interview – good questions.

  8. Theena Theen says:

    I found Harsh Reality randomly and followed immediately. I enjoy his outlooks, no matter if I agree with his view or not. I appreciate the honesty in his writing.

  9. sheilaeve says:

    Reblogged this on Chatterbox and commented:
    It happens…but on the bright side, look how many followers you have now!!👏

  10. billcastro says:

    Good interview, Susan! Harsh Reality is currently the only blog I follow consistently. There’s just something about OM’s right-in-your-face honesty that makes his blog a must read. Thanks.

  11. Ms. Vee says:

    Very nice interview. I am one of the thousands, following Harsh Reality. He writes what is on his mind, and as you said Susan P “from the heart” His writings are always a great read.

Comments are closed.