Our Georgie Cat

George, 7 months

George, 17 months

A cat community lives in our yard. It started when we got chummy with a neighbor’s cat and slipped her the occasional treat. Those of you who have cat community dependents already know where this is going. Along the way, her human got deeply into meth and neglected this beautiful tortie, who decided her chances were better in our yard.

Molly

Molly

One day we woke up and realized we had a community of cats.  Some of them had no fear of mankind. But as the generations of cats came and went, fewer trusted those who went on two legs. Until George.

Even as a kitten, George had no fear of people. Twice he jumped through the door behind Molly when she came in for a rest from her labors. The second time he was quite at home.

George Bailey Gator Fan

George, the Gator Fan

George began to stalk me when I walked the dogs. He was alongside of them when they tried to do their business. The dogs freaked out, and refused to cooperate. Any attempts to discourage George were ineffective. It was annoying and endearing.

When George was 16 months old, Molly was murdered by some neighbors who left their aggressive dogs run loose through the neighborhood.  The dogs tag-teamed her and tore her to pieces. The entire community mourned her demise with me. Finally my husband, who was worried that my tears would flood the house, said he thought we should bring George indoors. We named him George Bailey because it was Christmas. George immediately claimed me as his human.

George

17 months

He was a happy cat, and preternaturally well-behaved indoors . He came when I called him, sang to me when he couldn’t find me and put on some amazing aerial stunts to rid the house of flies. But one day he jumped up and when he hit the floor again, he began to scream in pain.

We took him to the vet. She thought he had pulled a muscle on his right hind leg and sent us home with pain-killer and antibiotics. A month later, he was limping across the living room when he fell down and screamed in pain again. The veterinarian took an x-ray and said on one of his femoral heads had splintered. She thought the other side might be cancer.

George next visited the University of Florida’s small animal clinic for a second opinion. George’s resident, Dr. Cuddy, assisted by student Blaine, examined him carefully and gently. She said  that he did not have cancer, but he had broken his femoral heads. He needed a femoral head ostectomy.

The (eek expensive) operation went well, but Georgie refused to eat or use the litter box after surgery. They were going keep him a second night to make sure he was eating and voiding, but asked me to come in to see him. As soon as the little fellow heard my voice, his ears perked up. He emitted a relieved purr when I petted him. They decided he could go home.

That was in June. George may never fly straight up as he used to, but he’s healing and adjusting to the changes in his life. Last Sunday he discovered that even if he couldn’t leap up on my bed, he could push-off with his hind legs and use his claws to pull himself up. I’m so proud of him.

gb

Post op

George recovering

A month ago

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in cats and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Our Georgie Cat

  1. Meian says:

    He’s adorable!

  2. Susan P says:

    Reblogged this on The Portugal Years and commented:

    I wrote about my amazingly beautiful and brave cat, George Bailey today over on The Curious Introvert. Come on over and check him out.

  3. A great story (nice ending!) The professor loves cats. Bob’s a bit like that, only he’s a bit vicious.

    • Susan P says:

      You have a Bob Cat? Did you get him on one of your journeys to the PL?

      • Yes the professor does! He’s actually a bobtail cat. (And, yes, I stole him from Dr. Zauberer’s house!)

        I do think George (love the name) is a very nice looking cat!

      • Susan P says:

        How did you manage to whisk Bob out of the Doctor’s domain? Was he having an awkward moment of which you took advantage? 😀

        George’s four-legged “daddy” was a gray and white bob-tailed cat with sweet eyes. Tommy Tuttle was quite as sweet as George unless it was mating season. For many years he bullied and beat up all contenders. Loudly. This past summer was his last. He had stopped fighting, and had some health problems. He had gotten a little forgetful of the dangers around him, especially my car. I had gotten into the habit of checking under the car before I drove off. The day that I took George to get his stitches removed I had checked then went back into the house for something I had forgotten. In that short time, Tommy got under the car. He survived being under the wheel of the car (though I doubt I will ever completely forget being the agent who caused his final demise). I got a box, and put him in it and took him along to the vet’s office where they euthanized him, and sent him to be cremated and have his ashes spread in a field. They told me that he had been in severe pain before he was run over, and that I did the right thing bringing him along.

      • Goodness. The professor’s cats are always getting under his car too. Better keep an eye open. I don’t even look! 😯

        Oh, it was a vexing business. But Bob took a liking to the professor. Perhaps it should be a blog post?

      • Susan P says:

        Oh, yes please! A blog post!!!

      • Okay, then! The professor is getting booked–which is good. I’ve always got the most dadblamest time deciding what to post! 😉

      • Susan P says:

        Did you say that Ruber is going to be a bookie?

      • No, why, did I? The professorish mind could have…

      • 😆 He does deserve it! And I wouldn’t put it past him either!

  4. White Pearl says:

    Awww your cat is so adorable ! Hugs to him and it was really a lovely story 🙂

    • Susan P says:

      Thank you, White Pearl. I rubbed him around the ears for you and told him it was from White Pearl. He purred. I’m glad you liked his story. I hope to expand it into a book that will kind of cross over from non-fiction to weaving the story from George’s point of view. Be blessed, dear friend.

  5. Pingback: Our Georgie Cat | The Portugal Years

  6. derrycats says:

    George is so lucky to have you!

Comments are closed.