Music Memories Monday: The Thing

This is another part of the musical heritage I have from my dad. He played it on something remarkably similar to the photo on the video. Phil Harris, the artist singing this song lived a long live and an interesting one. He was born in 1904, and was a musician, a band leader, and was one of the pioneers in radio shows.  singer. One of his later gigs was doing the voice of Baloo in Disney’s version of The Jungle Book. If you are interested in more details of Harris’ life, you can go here.

The song was written by  Charles Randolph Grean in 1950 and was played often. Other artists have performed The Thing, but when I think about it, it’s always Phil Harris I hear singing it in my head. And I hear my dad’s laughter.

So, dear readers, what do you think The Thing is?

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in Humor, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Music Memories Monday: The Thing

  1. Haha! The professor like that lots. So…maybe it was a monkey? I’m not really sure. You must tell me what it was, Susan.

    Phil Harris is great. He played in Disney’s Robin Hood too, didn’t he?

  2. Susan P says:

    You might be a tad tall to fit into a box that can be picked up and carried around.

  3. ladycheetah7 says:

    How fun was that to listen to. I can only imagine what thing would keep him from entering the pearly gates. Too funny!

Comments are closed.