Music Memories Monday: The Hallelujah Chorus

When I was a senior in high school, I landed in the advanced chorus – not on my merits  but because the other chorus class was full. It was the default mode. I had played ‘cello from fifth grade through tenth grade. Then we moved. Again. Neither of the last two high schools where I landed had an orchestra, so I ended up singing instead. My senior year Christmas program finished with both choruses joining together singing the Hallelujah Chorus from Handel’s Messiah. The director had prepped us by telling us that people generally stand for that piece, so we were ready. Though we had practiced many times, the audience response had us on our toes and I had to fight tears before the end.

This is the Royal Choral Society singing .

This is my last post for this year. Thank you for reading and commenting. I will be back in January.  Have a wonderful Christmas, and a spectacular New Year.

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.