Music Memories Monday – Winter

A lot of us are experiencing some extreme winter weather, and it reminded me of sitting with my dad listening to Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. A few years ago when I was volunteering in a second grade classroom I shared Vivaldi with them. We read a short bio where I learned that he was a priest Β thus proving that you are never too old to be surprised. If you don’t have time to listen to the clip, leave it playing while you listen to Vivaldi’s perception of winter. The second grade class drew some classic pictures about winter while they listened to it – maybe you can commune with your inner artist on this one. πŸ˜€

Have you listened to this before? What is your impression of Vivaldi’s work?

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in culture, dad, Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Music Memories Monday – Winter

  1. Zee says:

    An excellent topic. I developed an appreciation for classical music from my Grandad. I enjoy Tchaikovsky, Chopin, Vivaldi & Bach especially. Vivaldi’s work (or what I’ve listened to of his work, I should say) has a lot of life to it; I find it hard not to feel alive and empowered when listening to his ‘Four Seasons’ πŸ™‚

    That’s a fantastic learning experience to do with your students. I did something similar, but I asked them to imagine a narrative as they listened to a piece – I think it was Vivaldi’s ‘Spring’, but my memory’s not the best πŸ˜› – what story was the music telling??

  2. I like him. Especially his guitar concertos.

Comments are closed.