Monday Musical Memories – Victor Borge

If you think that classical music is boring and dull, you probably haven’t met Victor Borge, whose title was “The Clown Prince of Denmark.” I grew up listening to his perfectly executed music played with gusto and fun. One of his most famous routines was his phonetic punctuation.  He was knighted by a number of countries. His response was, “I’ve been knighted five times; now I can have a weekend.”

As Hitler rose to power, Borge something that no dictator would be able to countenance. He used his music and sense of humor to make fun of Hitler. When Germany invaded Denmark, he fled for his life to the United States for asylum.

Borge lived a long life and made many people smile during it. He passed away on December 23, 2000.

This YouTube clip features Borge with a partner in fun playing the Hungarian Rhapsody.

Tell me what you like the best about it.

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Monday Musical Memories – Victor Borge

  1. That made me laugh! Love Borge. I think I liked all his quiet exclamations the best. 😀

  2. Oh, did you bring back memories. I loved watching him, and miss his performances dearly, Thank you so much for this.

  3. ladycheetah7 says:

    That hand movement, coordination, and theatrics was the best.

Comments are closed.