Music Monday Memories – Indian Love Song

This week I’m taking you back to the early 20th Century to listen to a song that Jeanette MacDonald and Nelson Eddy popularized from a Broadway operetta named Rose-Marie (the longest running musical of the 1920’s). These artists performed in the 1936 cinema version of the story and this song was considered their “signature song.” Rose-Marie was a story of star-crossed lovers. This versionย was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2008

MacDonald began her singing career at the age of six. Her musical gift grew as she did. She had a three octave range beginning at E above high C. She had a reputation as a lady who could still bargain a good price for her work. She and Nelson Eddy teamed up on Naughty Marietta and they were such a hit that they worked together in eight movies and were called America’s Sweethearts.

Nelson Eddy was an amazing baritone, and one of the great heart throbs of the era. He, too, was a singer from a young age and began in church choirs. You can find out more about them here.

As is the case in many of the really old songs like this, I heard them first at my dad’s knee. Later I noted that he had a certain naughty twinkle in his eye when he put this record on the turntable, and my mother had a saucy grin.

I’m sending you to a website today instead of YouTube because this site has the lyrics as well as the music. What stands out to you in this duet?

http://www.songlyrics.com/jeanette-macdonald-nelson-eddy/indian-love-call-lyrics/

ย 

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in culture, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Music Monday Memories – Indian Love Song

  1. Well…he’s got a good voice–so does she. They’re actually real singers, as opposed to what we get today. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. The Dancing Rider says:

    From the movie, Rose Marie. I went to YouTube, as couldn’t get the link to work for me. GREAT voices, and “real” singers, unlike most artists today. Do not go to my blog. I have a hip-hop song posted there, and you will hate it — guaranteed!

    This MacDonald-Eddy duet is very operatic. Something I enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚ Really liked listening to it, Susan!

    • Susan P says:

      Thank you, DR, for visiting and commenting. Yes, they are both operatic voices. But I tend to be eclectic in my musical preferences and enjoy almost the entire gamut of genres including hip-hop. I’ve even been known to listen to heavy metal when someone I care about is into it.

      I’m glad you liked it.

      • The Dancing Rider says:

        Oh! I am so glad you said that. I feared you’d be very disappointed in me when reading my “Pique Turns and Other Ballet/Dance Urges” entry! ๐Ÿ™‚

        We could be birds of a feather, Susan!

Comments are closed.