Music Memories Monday – Danny Boy

In tune with our March theme of Irish music, this is the most delicious rendition of Danny Boy that I have ever heard. It is, of course, a sentimental piece, but Celtic Woman retains the deep emotion without getting maudlin. This a cappella version was so exquisite that it gave me chills.

Celtic Woman is a group made up of five talented women artists, whose names I won’t even attempt to pronounce.They were first noticed in 2005 on a TV show in Britain. I think I’m going to see if Pandora has an Irish channel. I’d like to hear more of their work.

Do you have a favorite Irish song?

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Music Memories Monday – Danny Boy

  1. The Dancing Rider says:

    There are many Celtic-themed songs I have skated to in performance. Nothing traditionally Irish though. I no longer remember if “Skellig” is a tranditional song and I’m too lazy to look it up. I like Celtic Woman, and I agree they perform this without becoming ….. sappy.

  2. The Dancing Rider says:

    Make that “traditional”. Please excuse my poor typing!

  3. That was very pretty. Never heard it like that before. (Do you suppose they need a pulsing bass?)

  4. ladycheetah7 says:

    Simply angelic. I heard this before but not this version.

Comments are closed.