Music Memories Monday – The Wild Rover

A standard song in Irish pubs, The Wild Rover was first mentioned sometime during the 1500s. The irony, of course, is that the folk song is about a prodigal son who is mending his ways. It’s a catchy tune. I’ve found myself trying to exorcise it out of my head since I listened to it at a community gathering at church on Wednesday.

Some Celtic football teams sing it when they are playing another team (generally with some modified wording to represent the club). You may also hear it used to promote products and companies. Well, I’ve warned you. Listen to it at your own risk.

Meanwhile, here is a shamrock for all of my Irish friends (and everyone is Irish on St. Patrick’s Day) and also a birthday greeting for any friends who were born today. I made it last Tuesday when I was at the library helping at story time with school age children. Lá Fhéile Pádraig Shona.

shamrock

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in Books, culture, Humor, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Music Memories Monday – The Wild Rover

  1. Happy St. Pat’s day to you too! I love that song. I’m kinda familiar with it.

  2. The Dancing Rider says:

    We have a few CD’s with songs by the Dubliners and other Irish singers. Lovely!

Comments are closed.