Monday Music Memories – The Ballad of William Bloat

This one is definitely on the dark side of Irish humor. The story is set in Belfast, a city where Protestants and Catholics lived side by side but uneasily. It even takes a pot shot at  German cutlery by comparing it with the strength of a rope made of Belfast linen. The tongue in cheek lyrics tell a gruesome story with a surprise ending after William curses the Pope. And so very Irish.

The song was written as a poem by Raymond Colville Calvert in 1926.

What do you make of this odd tale?

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in culture, Family, Humor, Music, peace and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Monday Music Memories – The Ballad of William Bloat

  1. That was shocking! But I liked the song, and I liked how he played Banjo. Rather active, I think.

  2. ladycheetah7 says:

    WOWEEE!
    I m must say I listened with trepidation because the story was a bit gory but the end made me chuckle.

  3. The Dancing Rider says:

    Well, I got the joke. Talk about come uppins! I do like the traditional Irish fok singing, and story telling! I don’t know much about it, but what I’ve heard I like.

Comments are closed.