Splash! Reblogged from Last Year Today

nice legs in waterI’m going to blame these stories on my grandmother who loved to play pranks and have fun. But she had no part in this escapade (though I’d bet if she had been there she would surely have joined in the adventure). Even my buttoned up mother perked up. (My mother’s idea of sex education was when she gave me a book about hamsters mating when I was ten years old. Imagine my confusion.)

It began one day in 197-something in Coatesville, Pennsylvania when our Greek neighbor, who brought us stuffed grape leaves, invited us to come swim in her pool sometime. After reflecting, she added: we will go skinny dipping. I looked at my mother from the corner of my eye. No cues there. My sister was looking in the other direction.

Well, the Greek neighbor assumed compliance, and proceeded to set up a time and date for us to go skinny dipping in her pool. Then, she told my father that he and her husband would not be attending. We were to wear a swimming suit down to her house andย  bring a towel. It was a quiet, moonless night. Mom was having second thoughts, but we moved her along – it was downhill.

On the night of new moon, the three of us walked to the neighbor’s house. She took us around to the back yard where we put our towels where on the chairs by the pool. The Greek woman yelled for her husband, who was elderly and nearly deaf. He came out, and she told him that once we were all in the pool, he was to turn out the lights and stay indoors.

We eased ourselves into the pool, and Mr. Greek disappeared and turned off all the pool lights. The stars were our only light. Mrs. Greek invited us to get in the water and take off our swimming gear.

I didn’t know what to expect, but I was not ready for the freedom I found without the suit. We moved unfettered and unencumbered through the water.The four of us swam through the smooth water and splashed until we tired.ย  The most challenging part of the escapade, though, was putting our swimming suits back on under the water to go home.

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in Susan's Adventures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Splash! Reblogged from Last Year Today

  1. Haha! Well, it seems like fun actually. It would probably be neat not to wear a swimsuit. But still! I’m unnerved by the idea.

  2. A little weird to go with your mom, but liberating, yes? Love this story. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Susan P says:

      Yes, it was a little weird, and it was liberating! Given the right circumstances, I’d do it again. I suppose the public Florida beaches would frown on it. Back to Portugal!

  3. ladycheetah7 says:

    OMG. I couldn’t do it. Nope. I am way to scared for that. Nope. Not me!

    • Susan P says:

      Well, I don’t know what to say about that. My siblings were much more adventurous and more than skirted the bounds of the law on occasion. They had little respect for me.

      • ladycheetah7 says:

        Then you wouldn’t need as much therapy if at any like I would. Omg. Modesty was the unspoken code not to say I didn’t have a sneak steak but I could never be that brave.

  4. Kevin Spencer says:

    Blink.
    BlinkBlinkBlink
    Golly…..
    You do realize you could lose your introvert license for such delightful revelations?
    Now that was a story!!!!

    • Susan P says:

      Kevin, as memories come back to me, I was always adventurous. Problem was that for 13 years of my life my dad was a pastor and I think my parents had a mental picture of how the pastor’s kids should act and after awhile -so I just lived a double life. The past six and a half years has been a lot of discovering who I am and how to not hide who that person is. My siblings just gave it up in their adolescence, but I was the first-born people pleaser, and it was my job to keep my parents’ happy. Do that long enough, and the candle begins to grow dim.

      That was probably the most “revealing” story, ๐Ÿ˜‰ but I have a few more tales to tell on myself. Anyway, I don’t see how that story has anything to do with being or not being an introvert.

  5. Amy Pinkrose says:

    Susan, this story held me spellbound. How fascinating that you did this of all people, with your Mom. Isn’t skinny dipping the best? (sigh) I wish I had a pool and boy I would be in that thing all the time naked as a jaybird. There is no other liberating feeling such as this except perhaps riding a bike (hehehehehehehe). As in motorcycle. Now I see the connection. I get it.

    LOVED this story. We must go skinny dipping when we go to Portugual. That includes the chicken Professor. LOL (((HUGS))) as I giggle, Amy

Comments are closed.