Monday Music Memories – Doo-Wop

I love me some Doo-Wop sometimes – after all I did grow up in the 50’s and 60’s. Even though Billy Joel wrote this song in the early 80’s, I’m using it to begin this month’s theme: Doo-Wop of the 50’s and 60’s.

The artists are The Overtones. They not only do they sing this spectacularly well, they do it acapella. Love the close harmony!

How about you? Do you have any favorite song from this era?

 

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in culture, Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monday Music Memories – Doo-Wop

  1. ladycheetah7 says:

    Kinda nice to hear some clean sounding music. Unlike what is played today where everyone is bumping and grinding in public. ***blank stare**

    • Susan P says:

      I know, right? I remember my parents would not even let me wear a dress that didn’t cover my knees let alone act like a “hussy.”

  2. I kinda really like it. The harmony is awesome.

  3. Kevin Spencer says:

    I’m sure you’ve heard Billy Joel’s version of this:

    The Overtone’s harmony is much richer, making for a fuller sound. Of course Billy’s version features Billy, not necessarily harmony.

    Thanks for sharing!!!!

    • Susan P says:

      I have heard Billy’s version indeed. But I do like this presentation of the song much more. That close harmony – gives me chills.

Comments are closed.