Music Memories Monday – Blueberry Hill

Continuing May’s theme of doo-wop music is Blueberry Hill. A classic rock song, it was written in 1940 and sung by at least six recording artists in that same year. Al Lewis and Larry Stock wrote the lyrics and Vincent Rose wrote the music. Fats Domino, who is the artist on this YouTube video, (and my personal favorite) first recorded it around 1950. It is one of the best known versions of the song though Elvis, Louis Armstrong, Gene Autry and the Glenn Miller Orchestra among others have also recorded the song. The TV show, Happy Days, kept it in the public ear some decades later. 

Do you have a favorite version of Blueberry Hill?

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Music Memories Monday – Blueberry Hill

  1. I liked this lots. And I like Fats. You know, his suit is really spicy.

  2. The Dancing Rider says:

    No, not really, but I sure do remember that song. 🙂

    • Susan P says:

      I remember it mostly because of Happy Days. I was NEVER allowed to listen to rock and roll when I was growing up. (So I had to sneak over to a friend’s house.)

Comments are closed.