Music Memories Monday – Deacon Blues by Steely Dan

Welcome to June! Just to change things up, I will be inviting my followers to share their favorite artists with all of us for a time. Each person will choose four or five artists (depending on the number of Mondays in the month) for the month.

The Professor, who blogs in the Punchy Land , is sharing for the month of June. He was volunteered by yours truly because he has introduced me to a goodly number of artists and music that were unfamiliar to me. He graciously agreed to spread the joy.

His first pick for your listening pleasure is Deacon Blues by Steely Dan, and he described it as a jazz/rock kind of thing. I found it pleasant and mellow – and maybe good for a slow dance.

The official bio describes it like this:  “The band’s sound intermixes jazz, rock, funk, R&B, and pop and contains jazz-based complex structures and harmonies and obscure lyrics.” That makes it interesting, doesn’t it?

More about Deacon Blues at this link. Interesting short history.

Anyone besides The Professor who likes Steely Dan and/or this song? Any thoughts about the music?

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Music Memories Monday – Deacon Blues by Steely Dan

  1. So glad you liked it! And I’m honored to help out. I’ve always found Dan very smooth and easy to listen to. Fagan (the singer) always looks so cool, too. In my opinion.

  2. Kevin Spencer says:

    Ohhhhhhhh……
    Aja is my go to album for introspection music. I have loved, loved, loved this album ever since I got an advance copy to listen to for the college newspaper so I could write a review, oh so many years ago. Aja came along at the perfect time for me. Pop music was growing stale to my ears.. A semester of classical music the previous year had opened my eyes to music complexity, and I had begun listening to some of my Dad’s classic Jazz albums. And then came Steely Dan and Aja, and it just swept me away. Like the Beatles, it never grows old.
    “Call me Deacon Blues.

    • Susan P says:

      Well. You are derelict in your duty. Why is it I have not heard of Aja before? 😉 Hearing it for the first time, I thought that it was something I could listen to often.

      • Kevin Spencer says:

        Oops….
        Bows head in shame,
        at his perceived dereliction.
        He shuffles to the corner, his corner,
        singing softly:
        “Chinese music always sets me free
        Angular banjos
        Sound good to me
        Aja
        When all my dime dancin’ is through
        I run to you”

Comments are closed.