Music Memories Monday – I Could Be That Guy, Composer Alan Menken

The Professor is doing a great job of introducing me into music that has never before sounded in my ears! This week he chose composer Alan Menken and the song,  “I Could Be That Guy” from the Broadway version of Sister Act. The version I chose to post is not a professional clip, but I did like the singer.

Alan Menken has also written a number of scores for Disney movies such as The Little Mermaid and Beauty and the Beast for which he won him some Academy Awards. He became interested in music at a young age, and has eight Oscars.

Menken not only composes music, but he also sings and plays it. He works in diverse styles like “classical, jazz, rock, pop, latin country and folk.

So, open your ears and tell me  what you think! I think I am “hearing” a pattern emerging here.

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Music Memories Monday – I Could Be That Guy, Composer Alan Menken

  1. I love this song to death! Especially how he dances. What sort of pattern?

Comments are closed.