The Curious Introvert’s New Direction

After long thought and lack of new musical inspiration to write about, I am turning my thoughts on book reviews. I’ve loved to read since I was too young to even read. I am an eclectic reader, and hope to share some old favorites as well as new friends. As a teacher who taught children and even some teenagers and adults to read – and some in two languages – I am looking forward to this new approach for the Curious Introvert.

What are your favorite stories?

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, change and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Curious Introvert’s New Direction

  1. therealrene says:

    Follow my Blog? I do reviews on Rock n Roll Autobiographies and True Crime Books

    therealrene.wordpress.com

  2. The Lite Rider says:

    I enjoy a lot of pulp fictions: thrillers, fantasies, etc. I used to read literature, but now I hardly do at all.

  3. kevinespencer says:

    Marvelous!! I think that’s an OUTSTANDING idea!! Elucidate, Mrs. Price, elucidate.

  4. walt walker says:

    Anything with pirates, aliens, rapscallions, gentleman, ladies, kings, enemies, treasure, heartbreak, silliness, or profundity. I like all of those things. Especially when they are in stories that I can read about.

  5. Lady Cheetah says:

    I am into fiction mostly, some non fiction but I gravitate toward fiction for escapism. Especially if the book has the potential or has become a motion picture.

  6. PurplesShade says:

    I’m really curious which languages. 😀 (Languages are utterly fascinating to me.)

    There are lots of stories I really enjoy, but I tend to primarily enjoy fantasy/sci-fi (Though honestly there’s a special place for good childrens books)
    I’m not sure if you were asking for suggestions so I’ll mention some books I happen to like, ones which aren’t especially well known, in case you are 🙂
    Starting with a classic that people often overlook: “The Last Unicorn” by Peter S. Beagle (There’s an animate movie of it, which is also well worth the watch – the author helped direct it), “Rant” by Chuck Palahniuk (the guy who wrote fight club, but this book is my favourite of his done in a little used narration style and fascinating in it’s outlandish world/characters, and even more bizarre storyline), “Chocky” by John Wyndham (some people found it a bit dry, or the kids speech unrealistic, but I read it I was 11 or 12 and was enthralled. I re-read it recently and I still really enjoy it.), “The World is Round” by Tony Rothman (which interestingly, though it reads as SciFi story written for it’s own sake it was also used as his doctoral dissertation. It’s amazingly well done for being a 2for1.) — In a completely different genre, I also recomend “A complicated kindness” by Miriam Toews (it’s entirely fiction, but it has a similar flavour to Agustine Borrows memoir of his crazy childhood. It’s basically a coming of age story of a mildly-rebellious girl raised Mennonite who no longer believes solidly in the faith and is trying to cope with that as well has her mother being missing while her father is losing his ability to care for her.)

    A few series: Jack L. Chalker’s “The Rings of the Master” series (4 books of space pirates facing off against a tyrannical computer overlord = awesome), Brian Daley’s trio of books following the adventures of Alacrity FitzHugh & Hobart Floyt (3 books of a ridiculous odd couple pair; each with their own secrets and goals, trying to survive diplomatic missions), and Brent Weeks “Night Angel” series (3 books, a fantasy setting with a very gritty, bloody, and emotionally tense sort of feeling, it’s mostly about the characters in the moment, and you don’t feel like you’re divorced from them at any point. But, it also has a rich background story woven in between character interactions and character/plot driven world-building, with an almost classic ‘epic’ feeling to some of it. Except unlike most epics which ‘zoom out’ to give narration or excessive exposition and get dry in the process, this never does.)
    Oh and E.E. Knight’s “Age of Fire” series (which is 6 books, but I’ve only read the first 3, which are quite worthwhile, each is written from the 1rst person perspective of a dragon in a land dominated by humans and other humanoid races. They can be read as stand alone, as each book is a different dragon’s perspective, but they are part of a larger narrative and all set in the same world.)

    • Susan P says:

      Thank you for coming by and commenting. I will look into some of your suggestions. I’m pretty much an eclectic reader. Books live or die depending on whether or not they are well written. I’m looking forward to hearing more from you.

  7. Cool! I like the new approach. Should be awesome. Well, Walt has a goodly list. How about Robin Hood? Or…I’d love to see you review a S. King. (And HP…*gag*)

  8. JustDeb says:

    Love the idea! I read all the time and have periods of reading fiction with most of my books being non-fiction. I love to learn and wish my memory allowed me to retain it. There was recently a challenge on facebook to list books that had an impact on you sometime in your life. I know that the discovery of a box of Nancy Drew books back in the early 60’s changed my life. I read all of them in that box and never stopped reading. Back in the day, I read Jonathon Livingston Seagull, Sidhartha, a lot of Vonnegut and many I can’t think of right now. I got into reading every new Grisham that came out, love him. Stephen King is great and just started rereading Hemingway. I read some of the teenage post apocalyptic series. On the last book of the Divergent series. I have a kindle and usually have at least 5 books open all the time. Have fun with your reviews!
    I haven’t posted anything for 3 months because of a very busy summer, but now I am stumped. I’ll have to think of something to do again, glad you found something.

Comments are closed.