The Best Laid Plans…

netgalleyThe Curious Introvert has definitely been reading, but alas, the holidays took a toll on my blogging. In trying to ameliorate your deep disappointment, I will share with you three books that came my way by courtesy of Netgalley.

giant

Hector Fox and the Giant Quest is one of the most charming and well written picture books I have read. The forest creatures are on a quest to see if there is a giant in their woods. Astrid Sheckels both writes and illustrates her beautiful books and does it magnificently. If you have no children with whom to share it, you might borrow one from a friend or family member to read to him or her. Yes, it is that well done.

Dr. Who

Holly Black wrote this book for tweens who are fans of Dr. Who in honor of Peter Capaldi’s Twelfth Doctor. This E-book is short, but is interesting and even thought-provoking. Young fans of the Doctor should enjoy it.

January Justice

I have been a fan of Athol Dickson for several years. He is one of the few authors I know of who can write his faith into his novels with aplomb, and can let the story tell itself without feeling he must explain how it works.

I had let him know how much I enjoyed his stories, and he did me the honor of asking me to review this book when it first came out a few years ago. I fully intended to do so, but a snafu with my new Kindle and a lot of life changes distracted me. When I logged into Netgalley, the missing book was still sitting there in archive, so I picked it up and here it.

The protagonist, Malcolm Cutter, a former Marine who was drummed out for unethical behavior lost his gorgeous movie star wife when she walked off a cliff for no discernible reason.

When Cutter was able to be up and around, he put his mind to finding out exactly what had occurred. He inherited his wealthy deceased wife’s estate, but wanted nothing to do with it. The proper English butler, who described his occupation tongue-in-cheek as “butling,” and the gardener were likewise determined to help Cutter in his quest. Add in some thugs from Guatemala, a pretty girl who needs help and some expensive cars and you had better fasten your seat belt.

I have to admit that I was on the edge of my seat as I read, and hated to put the book down. This is the first in a series about Malcolm with more to come.

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, change and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Best Laid Plans…

  1. walt walker says:

    The children’s book sounds especially interesting.

  2. The Lite Rider says:

    Love the sound of the children’s book especially!

  3. Snafu! What a word. Okay, Dickson’s book sounds great to me!

Comments are closed.