My Paris Dream – Book Review

badge_top_reviewernetgalley

My Paris Dream

My Paris Dream

An Education in Style, Slang, and Seduction in the Great City on the Seine

Kate Betts

Random House Publishing Group – Random House

Spiegel & Grau

For readers of How to Be Parisian Wherever You Are, My Paris Dream is a charming and insightful memoir about coming of age as a fashion journalist in 1980s Paris, by former Vogue and Harper’s Bazaar editor Kate Betts, the author of Everyday Icon: Michelle Obama and the Power of Style.

From the time I had read Mark Twain’s book, The Innocents Abroad I had an itching to set my feet on that continent. A certain wanderlust grew in my spirit. Eventually, I not only visited Europe, but actually lived there for some 11 years. When I was perusing the book lists on Netgalley a while ago, I tripped over My Paris Dream and immediately asked for the book.

Ms. Betts experiences often paralleled my journey of moving to a foreign land. Puzzlement, learning curves in nearly every aspect of living. Even aspirations were touched; she had planned to be a foreign reporter but discovered herself working as a fashion reporter in the cutthroat industry of high fashion.

I was delighted to follow her journey. My time I did stay in Paris was brief, but I saw much then that she lived in that short time I was there. Most of the rest of the story dealt with the fashion trade I was, to me, not nearly as interesting. I still learned much about the world of high fashion and had my thoughts provoked.

Do you think you would enjoy reading it?

About Susan P

Reader, writer, mother, grandmother, wife, traveler...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My Paris Dream – Book Review

  1. I think I probably would. It sounds like an adventure, after all.

Comments are closed.